Check-out and check-in are two important functions in a Document Management System (DMS):
The edit offline command combines a Check-Out and the download/opening of the working copy.
The Edit Offline command in Fred will:
The working copy is copied to a Fred folder on your local hard drive. This folder is defined in settings (repository tab) of Fred.
After editing the document you can simply save the local working copy of the document.
When you want to continue working on the working copy after you have closed the local copy, you can reopen the local copy by double clicking the working copy in Fred or by clicking the "Edit Working Copy" command.
You do not need to drag and drop or upload the working copy to Fred. With the "Update Main Document" command you will:
With the Discard changes command you will be able to unlock the main document and remove the working copy including any changes you have applied to the document.